The theatre was founded in 1949, when five couples met at a cafe in Briton Ferry to discuss the idea of forming Briton Ferry’s own Little Theatre. The decision was taken to proceed with the idea and, at a subsequent meeting, a chairman was elected and a management committee formed. Regular meetings were held at the Public Hall and membership soon began to increase.
A feature at each weekly meeting was a one-act play, which helped members gain acting experience and gradually establish a team of players.
On October 24, 1949, the curtain was raised on the first major production, No Medals, at Briton Ferry’s Public Hall.
Following the closure of the public hall in the late 1950s, the group moved to the Palace Kinema – known as the Kin – where it remained for 21 years. Following the demolition of the much-loved building, the company moved to Cwrt Sart Comprehensive School.
In 1993, Briton Ferry Town Council fulfilled its promise of providing the company with a community hall, which offered a stage and facilities where productions could be performed.
In 1995 BFLT moved in and members now perform three major productions a year.
If you would like to contact the Theatre please fill in our contact us page.
The Theatre is a member of
NODA – National Operatic and Dramatic Association
DAW – Drama association of Wales
GDL – Glamorgan Drama League