Bright Futures Learning Trust is governed by the Board of Trustees. The Board delegates some of the day to day governance of each school to it’s own Local Governing Advisory Board. The BFLT Scheme of Delegation 23-24 document describes this delegation in detail.

NameRoleDate of Appointment
Ms Helen SmithChair of Trustees25/2/2019
Mr Carl BowlerChair of the Finance, Audit & Risk Cmte12/7/2022
Mrs Jo Green7/3/2023
Mrs Gill KozlowskiCEO25/5/2020

All our Trustees were appointed by the Members and their term of office lasts for four years (with the exception of the CEO).

Members of the Trust are the people who can appoint Trustees and amend the Trust’s Articles of Association. Our Members are Mrs Joan Deans (Chair of Members, appointed in Nov 2020) and Mrs Kim Bergamasco (appointed in Jan 2023).

Please visit our school’s websites for details of their local governors, their terms of office and attendance at meetings. Registers of local governor’s business interests can also be found on the school’s websites.

Register of Trustees Business Interests & Trustees Attendance

Business Interests of Trustees 19-20

Business Interests of Trustees 20-21

Business Interests of Trustees 21-22

Business Interests of Trustees & Members 22-23

Business Interests of Trustees & Members 23-24

In the academic year 2022/23 the Trustees attendance at meetings was as follows:

  • Mrs Gill Kozlowski & Ms Helen Smith had full attendance.
  • Mr Carl Bowler attended 7 of 8 meetings and Mr Martin Digby attended 6 of 8 meetings.
  • Mrs Jo Green attended 4 of 5 meetings since her appointment.
  • Before his retirement, Mr Vic Shipp attended 1 of 3 meetings. Mrs Claire Lowe was initially a Trustee in 22/23 but resigned before a meeting was held.


The Trustees plan to have six full board meetings in the year 2023/24. The dates of these meetings are available on request.